Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bottling off a keg  (Read 8257 times)

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
Bottling off a keg
« on: January 07, 2014, 01:19:30 pm »
Being that I'm new to kegging, this might be a silly question...

If you bottle a beer from a keg and cap it immediately, will it stay carbonated indefinitely?
Frank

Offline Jimmy K

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Delaware
Re: Bottling off a keg
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2014, 01:23:56 pm »
If done right (without loosing too much CO2 to foaming), yes.
Delmarva United Homebrewers - President by inverse coup - former president ousted himself.
AHA Member since 2006
BJCP Certified: B0958

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2014, 01:24:49 pm »

Well....continue lol....elaborate on how to do it right
Frank

Offline narcout

• Brewmaster General
  • Los Angeles, CA
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2014, 01:38:41 pm »

Well....continue lol....elaborate on how to do it right

Sanitize bottle, cap and faucet
Turn off gas to keg
Vent most of the pressure from the keg
Purge bottle with CO2 (optional)
Gently fill bottle from tap (holding the bottle at an angle to prevent foaming)
Cap on foam
Turn gas back on to keg

If you are filling multiple bottles, you might need to give the keg a shot of CO2 every so often to keep the beer flowing at a good rate.
Sometimes you just can't get enough - JAMC

Offline Pinski

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Portland, Oregon
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2014, 01:44:07 pm »
What tools are  you using? Counter pressure bottler, BeerGun, Bottle Filler and stopper?
Anyway, chilling the beer lines and gear can help reduce the foaming during transfer.  Fill the bottle until beer (not foam) is at the rim, then remove your filler. Enough foam should form that you can "cap on foam" to minimize oxidation.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2014, 01:48:57 pm by Pinski »
Steve Carper
Green Dragon Brewers