Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Break Material / Trub  (Read 2475 times)

Offline ericberryericberry

• 1st Kit
Break Material / Trub
« on: January 02, 2014, 06:55:14 am »
I am relatively new to brewing, but I have done about 20 all grain batches.  On New Years Day I decided to try the recipe on the AHA home page - the Bosmo's Imperial Cream Ale.  I followed the recipe fairly closely, except I scaled it down to a 3 gallon batch.  I also do the BIAB method. 

Everything basically went according to plan, and I hit my mash tempatures as I had hoped.   I boiled off slightly more than expected, but nothing significant (although I guess that this contributed to a higher than expected OG).  After cooling with an immersion chiller, I began transferring the wort into the fermentor.  However, this batch had a ton of break material - WAY more than I have ever experienced before.  I usually run the wort throught a large sanatized strainer to filter out the hops that I use.  But with so much slop and geletinous goo from the break material / trub, it quickly clogged my strainer and made it a huge headache. 

Can anyone give me any insight on why there was so much more break material / trub in this batch?  I have never brewed with flaked maize before - could that be a reason? 

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Break Material / Trub
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2014, 03:54:58 pm »