Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Plate Chiller and Hops  (Read 11998 times)

Offline Teetsy

• 1st Kit
Plate Chiller and Hops
« on: January 10, 2014, 05:15:24 am »
I have been brewing for a couple years now and I finally stepped my game up and bought a plate chiller. My question is how do you guys that have one filter your hops out to go through the chiller. I do use the pellet hops any information you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: Plate Chiller and Hops
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 06:20:38 am »
Welcome to the forum!

The simple answer (and this will create some debate, to be sure) is that IME, having used a IC, CFC and plate chiller all at different times of the game nothing really beats an IC. First off, it can't be easier to clean and sanitize. You can inspect visually to see if it is clean, or to see if any patina needs removed with an acid (vinegar works) soak. And you plop it in your BK last 20 minutes to sanitize. If you have a pump you can recirc your wort back into itself to create a whirlpool like the pros do and chill rapidly.

Plate chillers have a tendency to clog. You have to boil them or bake them in your over to really be sure they are sanitary - and gosh they are expensive. And IMO an inferior option.

That said, you could bag your hops (and suffer utilization losses) or construct a diverter plate in front of your pick up to minimize clogging.

Offline jeffy

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Tampa, Fl
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2014, 06:22:10 am »
I have been brewing for a couple years now and I finally stepped my game up and bought a plate chiller. My question is how do you guys that have one filter your hops out to go through the chiller. I do use the pellet hops any information you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated.