Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Maintaining temperatures for fermentation  (Read 1553 times)

Offline thegooch52

• 1st Kit
Maintaining temperatures for fermentation
« on: January 12, 2014, 01:08:55 pm »
Hello,

I'm new to homebrewing and would eventually like to brew lagers and the like. I'm looking for a way to rig up a fridge or deep freeze to maintain the desired temps during fermentation. I've seen quite a few different designs. I'm looking for the best way to be able to essentially set it and forget it as I don't have a lot of time to keep constant check on it. I figured you guys would have knowledge/experience and be able to point me in the right direction.  Thank you for your time!

Offline jaftak22

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Maintaining temperatures for fermentation
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2014, 01:13:29 pm »
We'll if you don't already have a fridge for a fermenter buy one off craigslist unless you wanna pay for a new one. You can buy a Johnson digital temp controller from just about every homebrew website. Just follow the directions and you got a fermentation chamber. But I am pretty sure you can make a temp regulator if you don't wanna buy one. There not that expensive though, maybe $70 bucks.

Offline Jeff M

• Brewmaster
  • Currently upgrading to Brewery 3.0
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2014, 01:23:49 pm »
http://www.amazon.com/Johnson-Digital-Temperature-Controller/dp/B0064O93L8

Id get the digital version, but there is an analog version made by Johnson.  The digital version can be set so there is less temp difference (+/-).   There are other brands but this seems to be the most common.  i have mine hooked up to an old college mini-fridge to store hops and another setup to a chest freezer to hold at 40F.  works great!  Any decent LHBS should have them in stock. 
Granite Coast Brewing Company.
Building a clone of The Electric Brewery to use as a pilot system for new recipes!

Offline thegooch52