Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Belgian-ish Barleywine Feedback  (Read 3378 times)

Offline SecondRow_Sean

• Assistant Brewer
  • North of the Wall, NY
Belgian-ish Barleywine Feedback
« on: January 13, 2014, 03:02:21 pm »
I'm looking to make a belgian-ish barleywine for my brother's wedding, and I'd like to hear some feedback. I've never done a bw before, so this is mostly a shot in the dark.

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 7.48 gal
Post Boil Volume: 6.18 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.50 gal   
Bottling Volume: 5.20 gal
Estimated OG: 1.113 SG
Estimated Color: 18.8 SRM
Estimated IBU: 63.1 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 76.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 83.3 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt                   Name                                     Type          #        %/IBU         
16 lbs                Pale Malt (2 Row) Bel (3.0 SRM)          Grain         1        72.7 %       
4 lbs                 Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM)         Grain         2        18.2 %       
1 lbs                 Special B Malt (180.0 SRM)               Grain         3        4.5 %         
3.00 oz               Styrian Goldings [5.40 %] - First Wort 6 Hop           4        39.0 IBUs     
1 lbs                 Candi Sugar, Clear (0.5 SRM)             Sugar         5        4.5 %         
2.00 oz               Tradition [6.00 %] - Boil 45.0 min       Hop           6        24.1 IBUs     
2.00 oz               Styrian Goldings [5.40 %] - Aroma Steep  Hop           7        0.0 IBUs     
1.0 pkg               Belgian Abbey II (Wyeast Labs #1762) [12 Yeast         8        -             

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Full Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 22 lbs
----------------------------
Name              Description                             Step Temperat Step Time     
Mash In           Add 27.00 qt of water at 161.1 F        150.0 F       90 min