Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Interesting Judging Phenomenon  (Read 3427 times)

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Interesting Judging Phenomenon
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2014, 01:26:10 pm »
I'm just getting started. Zero experience at official beer judging. I have evaluated people though. Its not easy but having objective standardized guidelines helps. If an observable element is required and it's not there, opinion is not needed. I think where the problem lies is as already mentioned, but also when the evaluator puts him or herself into the mix. What I mean is when it goes from "check out this beer" to "check me out, judging this beer".

Sometimes I think you just have to risk being the dummy and say "they seem the same to me."

Offline phunhog

• Brewer
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2014, 02:05:42 pm »
I still enter contests but I wonder why....If I do well I second guess the judges and if I do poorly I second guess the judges.  Judging beer can be so subjective and as others have pointed out influenced by a myriad of factors.  Just remember the most important judge is YOU and whether you are happy with your beer!

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2014, 02:20:28 pm »
I still enter contests but I wonder why....If I do well I second guess the judges and if I do poorly I second guess the judges.  Judging beer can be so subjective and as others have pointed out influenced by a myriad of factors.  Just remember the most important judge is YOU and whether you are happy with your beer!

nuh uh, the most important judge is my wife.  ;D
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline dkfick

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2014, 02:52:26 pm »