Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: "Wet Hopping"  (Read 3587 times)

Offline alfredo

• 1st Kit
  • Beer brings people together
"Wet Hopping"
« on: March 01, 2014, 11:02:53 am »
Hi
I am a newbie and I am considering a “dry hopping”, but I have some concerns about using hop bags (sanitization) or just dropping the pellets  in a secondary (or primary).
What do you thing about the following method to add hop aroma to the beer:
1.   Boil water in a Erlenmeyer flask (resulting ~ 200 ml)
2.   Chill it (68-80 F) , maybe adding a little bit of alcohol (pure or vodka)
3.   Drop your favorite hop pellets in it
4.   Cover the opening with a sanitized foil and let it settle for a few days
5.   Pour the liquid (living most of the sediment or precipitate behind) in the bottling bucket, with the inverted sugar used for carbonation, or in the primary fermenter for a couple days when most of the fermentation is over, like a “Dry”  Hopping”.
Thank you

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: "Wet Hopping"
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2014, 11:07:22 am »
Ummm sounds complicated. Save yourself the time and just toss your hops into the fermenter after the primary fermentation and the yeast has dropped out. No fears of contamination.
Frank

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2014, 11:10:47 am »
Hi
I am a newbie and I am considering a “dry hopping”, but I have some concerns about using hop bags (sanitization) or just dropping the pellets  in a secondary (or primary).
What do you thing about the following method to add hop aroma to the beer:
1.   Boil water in a Erlenmeyer flask (resulting ~ 200 ml)
2.   Chill it (68-80 F) , maybe adding a little bit of alcohol (pure or vodka)
3.   Drop your favorite hop pellets in it
4.   Cover the opening with a sanitized foil and let it settle for a few days