Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Carbonating flat beer in bottles  (Read 2619 times)

Offline usabill

• 1st Kit
Carbonating flat beer in bottles
« on: March 12, 2014, 07:36:21 pm »
Hello,
Newbie here and first post.
I have about a dozen brews so far including one all-grain. I recently did a batch (extract kit from NB) called Hopqulia Double IPA. Awesome beer - a bit heavy at 15.4%ABV which doesn't worry me - only those who are not allowed to drive home after a couple beers.  After 4 weeks in bottles the beer is stone flat. I used the fizz drops from NB. I put 1 in each 12 oz bottle and tried 2 in one with no better result.
What is best solution - can I place in keg to carbonate then tap into bottle and seal?
thx
Bill

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
Re: Carbonating flat beer in bottles
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 07:43:08 pm »
Have you brewed this before? With the extreme abv the yeast may be done. That's red wine territory.

Keg it.
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman

Laws are spider-webs, which catch the little flies, but cannot hold the big ones. -Anacharsis

Offline usabill

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2014, 08:33:18 pm »
Have you brewed this before? With the extreme abv the yeast may be done. That's red wine territory.

Keg it.
First time with this recipe. I want to hand these out in bottles. I have some in keg so guess no harm in trying to bottle from a keg. Was just curious if anyone has experienced same and might share outcome.
thx

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2014, 08:35:50 pm »
Big beers can take some time to carbonate.

Offline usabill

• 1st Kit
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2014, 08:50:01 pm »
Big beers can take some time to carbonate.