Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First Dry Hop  (Read 1936 times)

Offline kylebures

• 1st Kit
First Dry Hop
« on: April 03, 2014, 06:15:46 pm »
I have been brewing for almost two years, and have made over a dozen batches but recently began using a secondary fermenter and on my last batch did my first dry hop.  On my first several batches using a secondary the fermentation would usually subside in about 6-7 days and I'd proceed to bottling, but when I used the dry hop method this time it has now been in the secondary for 12 days and is still bubbling about once every 45 seconds in the airlock, and doesn't seem to be slowing down now for several days.

Does dry hopping extend the fermentation time, or is it the strain of yeast that is particularly active (WLP320 American Hefeweizen Ale)?

I also notice a lot of hop sediment still in suspension in the secondary - is there a better way to contain or a way to strain this out when I move to bottling?

Is the dry hop pay off worth it?

Thanks!

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: First Dry Hop
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2014, 06:41:41 pm »
First off... Yes, dry hopping is boss!

Secondly, how long did you have this beer in the primary and what temp? Have you used this yeast strain before? Some strains take longer to clean out than others. My beers are typically in a fermenter for three to four weeks. Remember this rule of thumb, the calendar doesn't determine when the yeast is done, the yeast determines when the yeast is done. My first barlywine took 39 days to finish up.