Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Forgot to Sanitize my carboy!!  (Read 11193 times)

Offline bobbobcat

• 1st Kit
Forgot to Sanitize my carboy!!
« on: April 05, 2010, 04:52:32 pm »
I'm a newbie to homebrewing, working on my second batch right now.  First batch, a red ale, turned out great! I am doing my second batch, an American IPA, however after I put my wort and water in the carboy I rememebered the next day that I forgot to santize my carboy.  DOH!! I know I messed up!!

Currently the fermentation process appears to be going great.  I used a smack pack.  Do you think my beer will be screwed? Or do you think I will be okay? Any suggestions? Comments? Stories??
Thanks!!

Offline pinnah

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Wesloper, CO
Re: Forgot to Sanitize my carboy!!
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 05:00:09 pm »

I bet you will be fine.   

Stories?  I usually have some scum still visible on the glass from prior batches that I am too lazy scrub off.  I always store my carboys with some tinfoil on the top though. ::)

Have fun, don't worry, drink some red ale.

Offline smurfe

• Cellarman
  • Brewing on the Bayou
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 06:11:15 pm »
Did you at least clean it first? I know a lot of folks clean first with Oxy Clean and then sanitize. I have fermented before just using oxy clean when I found out I was out of Star San and didn't even have any bleach. If your carboy was at least clean, you ought to be OK, just don't make a habit of this!  ;D
I cook and I brew down on the bayou

Swampwater Brewing
Gonzales Louisiana

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 06:56:19 pm »
There's a good chance you'll have no problems if you cleaned it up some first. A good healthy pitch of yeast helps. Probably better if you drank up the brew fairly quickly.