Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Have you harvested yeast from a commercial bottle?  (Read 6495 times)

Online pete b

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Barre, Ma
Have you harvested yeast from a commercial bottle?
« on: April 19, 2014, 09:02:28 pm »
I would like to make a clone of Spencer Trappist Ale. Despite the availability of commercial trappist/ belgian abby yeasts I would like to try harvesting this from the bottle for the experience and because I have some connection to the Abby that just makes me want to use their yeast. There is a very small amount of sediment in each bottle, a tiny ring around the bottom as opposed to covering the bottom. I've never done this before and would appreciate any advice.
Don't let the bastards cheer you up.

Offline andyi

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Have you harvested yeast from a commercial bottle?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 06:12:58 am »
I have successfully used dregs from an ommegang white.  Started with 200 ml of 1.020 starter wort (DME), let ferment out for 5 days, added  400 ml and ferment for 5 days, added for a  2L starter at 1.040 and pitched.

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2014, 06:58:58 am »
It is best to have the starter wort prepared and use the yeast sediment from 2-3 bottles. Lower ABV beers are generally what I use, but try to get the strain you are after in this case with a Spencer beer.

Some instructions.
http://www.howtobrew.com/section1/chapter6-7.html

http://byo.com/barleywine-and-imperial-stout/item/1661-yeast-culturing-from-bottles-techniques

Lots of videos. I have not watched any of these so I can't say if they are good or bad.
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mF7DLNjh0WM

Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline corkybstewart

• Senior Brewmaster