Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: force carbonation-best method  (Read 11724 times)

Offline derby

• 1st Kit
force carbonation-best method
« on: April 20, 2014, 12:37:48 pm »
hello,

i am new to kegging and force carbonation can anyone describe the best method for this? maybe link a video? i've watched a few videos on youtube and everyone does it different. i guess i'm looking for a formula and a detailed description of what is going on.

Offline duboman

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: force carbonation-best method
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 12:44:15 pm »
Basically you are trying to get the co2 to saturate the beer as quickly as possible and yes, everyone has a way to do this but differently.

I like to put the gas on at serving pressure which for me is 10psi at 38 degrees.

I then roll the keg on the floor for 5-10 minutes, reconnect the gas and listen for the full, disconnect and repeat 4-5 times.

Once done I put the gas on and leave it in the kegerator for 3-4 days to stabilize and clear and it's ready to serve.

I like this method because there is no chance of over carbonating since I do this at serving pressure only.

Peace....Love......Beer......

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the craft of beer since 2010

Offline dkfick

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2014, 12:52:16 pm »
I usually use a calculator like the one in BeerSmith.  For x temp I set the pressure to y psi.  Then I just leave it for about 2 weeks.
BJCP A0936 National Beer Judge and Mead Judge
Cicerone Certified Beer Server
AHA Member
CRAFT Homebrew Club
Sons of Liberty Homebrew Club
HBT "mors"

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2014, 01:05:37 pm »
Depending on when I need the beer, I set and forget, set at 30 and reduce over a few days, or shake carb @ 45.

Each has their benefits and shortcomings.