Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Single Tier Brew System  (Read 3139 times)

Offline Gus_13

• 1st Kit
    • Mason-Dixon Brew Crew
Single Tier Brew System
« on: April 24, 2014, 11:58:31 am »
Hello all!

I'm looking to purchase a single tier system.  Weighing the options of Electric vs. Gas.  Anyone have any stories to share of the pros/cons.  Or any pictures of your system would be awesome.  I've dug around and was unable to find a thread like this but if there is one, feel free to link it and I'll go there.  I'm wanting to step up brewing and do a small pilot type system to carry with me through my brew-ventures.  I've bobbled around the idea of building one but... I'm not great at that stuff.  I'm a salesman not an engineer! haha

If you know of any sites selling good systems please list them as well.  Looking for any and all input I can get on this subject!

Santé!

Gus
Brewer of Belgian-Style and Wild Beers

Santé!

Offline Jeff M

• Brewmaster
  • Currently upgrading to Brewery 3.0
Re: Single Tier Brew System
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2014, 12:08:28 pm »
Depending on how things are with your local gas/electric company the following is true.

Gas =  Cheaper to set up but more expensive to keep up
Electric = More expensive to set up but cheaper to keep up.

There are a lot of variable to consider but electricity is more effecient and usually cheaper to brew with, but having the ability to distribute the electricity to heat with is rather expensive( panel to control the flow, elements to heat water etc) hereas Gas is usually direct fire.  People seem to love one or the other and tpyically preach that style.  Im an electric guy myself.

www.thelectricbrewery.com

TEB Panel and pieces are great, but you need to do a lot of Fabrication on your own, so probably not for you>

Good Luck!

Cheers.
Jeff
Granite Coast Brewing Company.
Building a clone of The Electric Brewery to use as a pilot system for new recipes!