Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Suggest a Port?  (Read 3305 times)

Offline el_capitan

• Brewer
Suggest a Port?
« on: May 09, 2014, 07:26:10 pm »
My buddy Steve is finally graduating med school after many years of hard work.  I'd like to get him a decent bottle of port - my budget is right around $40.  I am far from an expert.  Any ideas of a commonly-available port that'll fit the bill?

Offline yso191

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Yakima, WA
Re: Suggest a Port?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2014, 11:30:14 pm »
For that price range I'd suggest Graham's Six Grape.  I assume you are wanting a .750 as opposed to a split, so $40 is the challenge.  In the price range you are looking for a ruby port or a vintage character.  Do you know his favorite port house?  If you've heard him talking about a specific one, most Rubys are roughly the same price range with vintage character being a bit more.  Sorry, no easy answers.
Steve
BJCP #D1667

“Fallacies do not cease to be fallacies because they become fashions.” ― G.K. Chesterton

Offline MDixon

• Brewmaster General
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2014, 06:20:57 am »
My tastes always gravitate to Tawny. One problem with Port is there are few places I can find that have much of a selection. We like the Fonseca, but they are under your price point for the most part.

Ramos Pinto 10 year should be right about what you want to spend or perhaps a touch more, but in truth I haven't seen if for sale anywhere near me in quite some time.
It's not a popularity contest, it's beer!

Offline el_capitan

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2014, 07:08:14 am »
Sounds like I need to man up and spring for a better bottle!   :D  Price aside, what else is good?  I'm mainly a beer guy myself, so I'm kind of out of my element here. 

"Donny, you're out of your element here!"

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2014, 08:20:34 pm »