Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: 2 gallon brew overflowing  (Read 1786 times)

Offline BobM

• 1st Kit
2 gallon brew overflowing
« on: May 18, 2014, 05:55:55 am »
Hey Guys
I'm new to this so I've been doing 1 gallon brews to get the hang of it. Yesterday I did a 2 gallon Mosaic IPA with 3 lbs of dry malt extract and pitched the wort in a 2 gallon bucket. I looked at it this morning it is fermenting but it is venting so much that it is coming out the vent cap and the liquid I had in the vent is now the color of the wort, but is the same amount as yesterday. Is this anything I should worry about or just keep my eye on it because it pressure will eventually go down?
Bob

Offline duboman

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: 2 gallon brew overflowing
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2014, 06:25:43 am »
The pressure will go down but maybe not before the cap or lid blows off, hook up a blow off tube.

Take a piece of tubing and connect it to the top and run it into a jug with star San mix.
Peace....Love......Beer......

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the craft of beer since 2010

Offline BobM

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2014, 07:04:11 am »
thanks, had to pull up a picture to understand, but it is done. is this because of so much malt?

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2014, 07:31:50 am »

I did a 2 gallon Mosaic IPA with 3 lbs of dry malt extract and pitched the wort in a 2 gallon bucket.

Gotta go bigger with your fermenter size, or reduce the size of your batches. I'd shoot for a bucket or carboy ~ 30% bigger than your batch size, to contain the krausen foam from fermentation. Or else this will happen every time. Good luck.
Jon H.

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2014, 07:43:16 am »
Welcome Bob.

The people on this forum can take you from brew-curious to expert. Tell us how you got started and what your current process is.

Offline majorvices