Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mash water  (Read 1873 times)

Offline Serkazong

• 1st Kit
Mash water
« on: May 20, 2014, 08:10:10 am »
I'm new to all grain.  I've read a couple books that both say to use 1.5 - 2 qts / lb for mash water.  But beersmith, and people on these forums seem to recommend 1.25 most often. 

What difference does it make?  It seems like using 1.25 and sparging with more water would get you better efficiency.  Is that right?  Is there something else I'm missing?

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Mash water
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 08:18:14 am »
I usually mash at 2:1 in a recirculation direct fire mash tun. I batch sparge and recirculate that too for about 15 minutes. I track brew house efficiency only, and normally I'm at 75% +/-5

Offline theDarkSide

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Derry, NH
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2014, 08:30:46 am »
I use a 1.75:1 ratio and batch sparge.  For most of my recipes, I end up mashing with just slightly more water than I sparge with and get anywhere from 70-78%.
Seacoast Homebrew Club - Portsmouth, NH
AHA Member
Stephen Mayo
------------------------------------------------

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2014, 08:33:08 am »
I use a 1.75:1 ratio and batch sparge.  For most of my recipes, I end up mashing with just slightly more water than I sparge with and get anywhere from 70-78%.

Pretty much the same for me.  ~ 78- 80% brewhouse efficiency.
Jon H.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2014, 08:39:55 am »
1.25/lb is good if you are doing a step mash. thinner mash (to a point) will increase conversion efficiency and can help with some efficiency problems. I generally aim for 2:1 although by the end of a no sparge batch I have all the water in there.