Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: white residue after fermentation of belgian wit  (Read 2176 times)

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
white residue after fermentation of belgian wit
« on: May 12, 2014, 11:15:35 am »
I kegged a belgian wit today and noticed white almost flaky residue floating on top of the finished beer. Not a ton but definitely noticeable.

The smell going into the fermenter is great but the taste has me a bit worried. I feel like I am getting a slightly sour metallic taste. To be honest, I feel like my palate is shot right now so I don't know if it is off or not. I have no experience with this yeast or this style.

I fermented with T58 for 3 weeks, it stayed between 65-70F, and finished at 1.007 which is considerably lower than I expected. I added one pasteurized, pureed pineapple after one week and citra dry hops after 2 weeks. The influence of the pineapple is strong so I am wondering if any off flavors are related to that. Could the white residue be related to the pineapple as well?
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: white residue after fermentation of belgian wit
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 12:23:55 pm »
it could I suppose be related to the pineapple. pectin perhaps? how did you pasteurize? Could also be a pellicle. if so it wouldn't be the worst thing in a wit beer.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline Iliff Ave

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2014, 12:31:52 pm »