Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Volume transferred to carboy fermenter  (Read 1232 times)

Offline jasongael

• Cellarman
Volume transferred to carboy fermenter
« on: May 31, 2014, 02:41:40 pm »
This is my very first time homebrewing. I started out with 7.25 gallons between Mash and Sparge (ALL GRAIN IPA), I was at about 6 gallons pre-boil, and I think I got maybe 4 gallons or a little less transferred to the carboy (threw out a lot of sludge after - too hard to filter and funnel), so it's been fermenting well almost 6 days now, and I've just heard someone suggest I add a gallon of distilled water at this late stage? Does that work? Should I even consider doing this? I plan on dry-hopping in a second fermenter (5-gallon carboy) anyway, would I add it then? or.... ??? any/all advice for novice is MUCH APPRECIATED!! :)
"May your glass be ever full, may the roof over your head be always strong, and may you be in heaven a half-hour before the devil knows you're dead."

We'll drink to that.

Offline yso191

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Yakima, WA
Re: Volume transferred to carboy fermenter
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2014, 02:56:16 pm »
I wouldn't add water at this point.  If you take a gravity reading pre-boil and at the end of the boil you could add water or malt extract then, depending on which direction you were off.  I also don't worry about trub too much.  The yeast don't care.  It will settle out, and you can dump it with the hops and yeast at the end of everything.

There are worse things than ending up with less beer than what you planned for.  I'd rather have 3 gallons of good beer than 5 gallons of bad.

On another side topic, it sure seems like you boiled off a lot of volume.  I usually boil off a gallon per hour.  This will vary based on the kettle one uses, but a gallon an hour is typical.
Steve
BJCP #D1667

“Fallacies do not cease to be fallacies because they become fashions.” ― G.K. Chesterton