Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fermentation Temp  (Read 1342 times)

Offline mbarr13

• 1st Kit
Fermentation Temp
« on: June 02, 2014, 02:11:26 pm »
Hey everyone,
I'm brand new to brewing as of this past Saturday. I started with a light Stout, the guys at my local shop coached me through most of it, and I followed the brewing process to the letter. Once I got everything in my primary fermenter (got it down to 67 F), got the lid and EconoLock on fine, put in my generally cool storage room. Yesterday, the fermenter was at 80 degrees, as it was this morning. For the life of me I just can't figure a way to get it cool. It was bubbling at a fairly decent pace yesterday, and today, not so much. Is my batch ruined? Or did the fermentation process get kicked into high gear and should I put it in the secondary? Is there simple & cheap ways of keeping the fermenter cool? How can I tell if it's ruined?

Thanks for any feedback.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Fermentation Temp
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2014, 02:22:46 pm »
it's not ruined. it might be mostly done. at that temp it will go fast. Regardless give it a couple more days. you did right by chilling down to 67 before pitching the yeast. It might still taste a little hot and alcoholic at first but some time should help with that.

I would skip secondary and let it ride on the yeast until a couple of sequential gravity readings a couple days apart read the same.

To avoid this in the future you can go a couple routes:

1) Get a big tub put the fermenter in there and fill the tub with water which you keep cool with ice, ice packs, frozen water bottles, or similar.