Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Double check my fining technique  (Read 2706 times)

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Double check my fining technique
« on: June 03, 2014, 03:55:24 pm »
I've never messed with fining my beers before, but now that I have some kegs I have a problematic barleywine that I plan on transferring to a keg, fining, force carbonating, then bottling. I've never done any of this before, so I was hoping the experts on the forum could spot-check my plans to make sure I'm not missing anything important.

I have 2.8-ish gallons of barleywine that has been crash-cooling at 25F for 2 days now. I'm going to sanitize and purge a 2.5-gallon keg, then add my dissolved gelatin and rack my beer on top. After that I'll force carbonate for a week or two, then blow off the sediment and bottle the rest.

Do I have it right? Any suggestions on how much gelatin I would need for 2.5 gallons? Should I just use a whole pack, or will half be sufficient?

Thanks in advance.
Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: Double check my fining technique
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2014, 04:04:34 pm »
Sounds like a solid plan.  This guy's blog has a good, concise process that works well (my process too).  You can also substitute BioFine Clear for the gelatin in the same process. I've bought some BioFine and plan to use it on the next batch - I hear good things about its quality. That gelatin procedure works great though.

http://www.bertusbrewery.com/search/?q=gelatin
Jon H.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2014, 04:10:32 pm »
I use the same steps as that blog post. One item I do differently is I allow the jello to "bloom" for 15 minutes before heating. I find it dissolves easier this way.

Offline HoosierBrew