Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brew Stand 3.0  (Read 48344 times)

Offline dcbc

• Brewer
Re: Brew Stand 3.0
« Reply #15 on: September 12, 2012, 08:28:32 am »
Well, after saving my pennies, I am having part two of the labor end of the Brew Stand 3.1 update performed today.  That's right.  Automation.  Last month, my stand went back to the welder to have a burner support and windscreen added for the mash tun.  Last week, I ordered two Blichmann Tower of Power control modules (I'm no electrician).  Today, I dropped the stand off at the plumber to adjust the gas piping to accommodate the mash tun burner and install the asco valves while they are in there.  Over the next week, I'll be installing the sparkers for the mash tun and HLT burners.  I'll also be installing a mount for the TOP, which basically amounts my bolting an articulating wall mount for a tube TV to the stand. 

I know this isn't DIY.  But, in large part, this stand never has been.  Pictures to follow.
I've consumed all of my home brew and still can't relax!  Now what!

Offline dcbc

• Brewer
« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2012, 06:43:40 pm »
Back from the plumber.  New center burner with plumbing run at an angle so as not to interfere with my adjusting the pump.  ASCO valves are mounted below the ball valves for the MLT and HLT burners.  By mounting them there, I was hoping to have them far enough below the level of the burners so they would not get too much heat. 

More to come.

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2012, 09:36:42 pm »
What kind of burners are those?  Are they enough to bring your 20 gal pots to boil in a decent amount of time?

Offline dcbc

• Brewer
« Reply #18 on: September 13, 2012, 09:41:22 pm »