Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: mash temp  (Read 4912 times)

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
mash temp
« on: June 27, 2014, 12:20:39 pm »
After a 20 year hiatus and about a dozen extract brews since jumping back into brewing after Alabama voted down prohibition May of 2013, I am fairly new to all grain with only half a dozen brews under my belt.  I am a self confessed Denny's Batch Sparge disciple because it got me into all grain with minimal cost over my extract set up while getting respectable results.  I normally buy kitted recipes from online home brew suppliers and each comes with a recipe.  I've noticed that nearly all recipes have different single infusion mash temps ranging from 151*F to 154*F.  I've read on a couple different forums including this one that 148*F to 150* should be used.  So why the difference in recommended mash temps not only from the forum members but between the recipes?

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: mash temp
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 12:30:03 pm »
The mash temp is one of the variables that will affect the relative fermentability of the resulting wort.

The two enzymes responsible for breaking down starch into sugar are alpha and beta amylase. Alpha amylase works best at temps between ~150-160 (ish) and creates a minimally fermentable wort. Beta amylase works best at temps in between 140-155 (ish) and creates a more fermentable wort.

so by mashing at 148 you maximize the beta amylase activity and therefore, in theory maximize the fermentability of the wort. a mash temp of say 154ish should produce a moderatly fermentable wort and a really high mash temp like 162 creates a minimally fermentable wort.