Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mini fridge question  (Read 2549 times)

Offline gravityspiral

• 1st Kit
Mini fridge question
« on: July 03, 2014, 07:59:06 am »
I posted this on another brewing forum as well after searching and not finding much. Maybe you guys can help...

Basically, I see these kegerators online for beaucoup bucks and I do plan on getting one eventually, but right now I just want a mini fridge I can put one or two cornies in and keep them cool.  No draft dispenser, no CO2 tank, regulator, any of that stuff.  Just a run of the mill $100-$150 mini fridge.

The problem is that all of the mini-fridges in that price range have built-in shelves, or can racks, or all sorts of stuff on the inside that makes fitting even one corny keg impossible. I'll give you an example: here's one that I've had since long before I started brewing, you'll see (because I was bored enough to highlight) the areas I'm talking about: shelving built into the actual wall of the fridge.

Does anyone know of a generic, low-cost mini-fridge that's just plain EMPTY? Like five plain walls and a door?

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Mini fridge question
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2014, 08:26:10 am »
What you will need to do is find a mini fridge with only the freezer compartment that takes up the entire width and forms a U shape with the top open. You will need to bend it down (instructions can be found online) and cut the shelving from the door.

Fridges without the freezer compartment are more expensive because they are more of a PIA to produce and either have coils in the wall or a large plate of coils on the back.

I think you can find the fridge that Danby uses without all of the draft equipment, but I do not know the model number.

Offline kylekohlmorgen

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Saint Louis, MO
    • The South House Pilot Brewery
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2014, 08:35:06 am »