Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Blichmann Boilermaker 10 Gallon  (Read 3835 times)

Offline flbrewer

• Brewmaster General
Blichmann Boilermaker 10 Gallon
« on: July 13, 2014, 04:47:27 pm »
Considering upgrading my 7.5 gallon Polar Ware kettle to a Blichmann Boilermaker 10 gallon. Can anyone share their experience with one?

Offline 69franx

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Bloatarian Brewing League
Blichmann Boilermaker 10 Gallon
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2014, 05:14:57 pm »
All I can say is that's a big money upgrade. I know you have been doing a lot of 1 gallons experimental stuff and are now back into 5 gallon batches. I am in the same boat, but I sprang for a 15 gallon kettle from the BruGear Kickstarter. If you ever want to go to 10 gallon batches, to split them up and experiment some more, you will need more than a 10 gallon pot. I have no experience with the blichmann, but I have learned here to buy once instead of continuously up-grading. I am sure folks will give rave reviews for the boilermaker though

Sent from The Alpine Brewery using Tapatalk
Frank L.
Fermenting: Nothing (ugh!)
Conditioning: Nothing (UGH!)
In keg: Nothing (Double UGH!)
In the works:  House IPA, Dark Mild, Ballantine Ale clone(still trying to work this one into the schedule)

Offline flbrewer

• Brewmaster General
Re: Blichmann Boilermaker 10 Gallon
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2014, 05:35:52 pm »
I'm not really looking to do larger than 5 gallon, it's just that my 7.5 gallon on 5 gallon batches is dicey sometimes. Plus, I'd love to upgrade to a pot w. a spigot and a temp. gauge. American made is a nice bonus as well.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2014, 05:42:15 pm »
I agree with franx. Look into adding weld less fittings to your existing pot. Bargain fittings will have everything you need.

http://www.bargainfittings.com