Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First All-Grain Fermentation Concern  (Read 2397 times)

Offline braz24

• 1st Kit
First All-Grain Fermentation Concern
« on: July 22, 2014, 12:15:54 pm »
Hi all.  I'm new to AHA so why not start with a question for the experts.  I just brewed my first all-grain this past weekend.  I steeped at 152 degrees and batch sparged.  I hit all of my numbers and it looks like I was at around 85% efficiency.  I pitched Wyeast 1056 at about 72 degrees.  My carboy is in my basement where it sits at around 72 degrees.

Once the fermentation took off, it had a very good, steady fermentation that only lasted about 48 hours.  This is my concern.  Did this ferment too fast maybe because 72 degrees is too warm?  I did not use a starter so maybe there weren't enough yeast cells to finish the job?  I'm worried that the finished product will not have the best flavor due to the fast fermentation.

I wrapped the carboy in a wet towel and shook it up to hopefully get the process going again.  I'm thinking about pitching another bag of 1056 on this 4th day of it being in the primary.

Thoughts?  Suggestions?  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Craig
Craig

Offline dannyjed

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Toledo, OH
Re: First All-Grain Fermentation Concern
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2014, 12:28:34 pm »
72 is warm and the actual temp in your fermentation vessel could be up to 8 degrees higher during active fermentation. 1056 ferments cleaner at a lower temp like 60-64. You can use a swamp cooler method to keep your temps down. We would need to know more details about your recipe to know whether or not you pitched enough yeast. The only way to know for sure is to check the gravity of your beer. My guess is that it fermented quickly because of the high temps.
Dan Chisholm

Offline braz24

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2014, 12:41:17 pm »
Thanks for they reply Dan.  The grain bill was as follows: