Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: omega yeast  (Read 9529 times)

Offline jimmykx250

• Brewer
omega yeast
« on: July 22, 2014, 03:51:27 pm »
Stopped at the LHBS and picked up an omega yeast 004 liquid pack just to try it. The guy told me no nutrient pack to smack just let it get to room temp (3hours min on the package) and pitch. So I waited around 5 hours shook it up and pitched it. This was at 9pm. At 7am the next morning no action at all so i threw on the old us05 and away it went. Omega doesn't give any info on the pack or on the website but they are local to me that's why i tried it. The brew shop said i should have waited longer 12 to 48 hours for the fermentation to start!!! That seems excessive to have to wait that long for yeast that are just snoozing right?
Any input would be appreciated im still learning.
Thanks,
Jim
Jimmykx250

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: omega yeast
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2014, 04:25:37 pm »
Depending on the size of the pitch, 6-48 hour lag is normal. Does the pack not the cell count?

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2014, 04:57:48 pm »
+1

10 hours is asking a lot of a single pack of yeast. Just because you don't see activity early on doesn't mean the yeast aren't working. they are reproducing which does look so exciting.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2014, 05:08:08 pm »