Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Stuck Fermentation  (Read 2834 times)

Offline CrateOfRum

• 1st Kit
  • Learning the ropes, drinking the beers
Stuck Fermentation
« on: July 24, 2014, 02:51:09 pm »
Hey this is my first time posting. So I tried my hand at making a high gravity stout doing a partial boil with extract and steeping grains. My OG came to 1.124 and I let it stay in first fermentation for about three weeks. I originally pitched two packets of rehydrated s-04 and had very active fermentation for about a week or two. My question: Is there any harm in racking off a quart from the secondary, heating it up to a boil and re-pitching a pack of s-04 into it, and transferring it all back into the fermentor?

My Recipe:
1 lbs Caram Malt 120 SRM
1 lbs Chocolate Wheat 415 SRM
1 lbs Roasted Barley 300 SRM
12 oz Chocolate Malt 350 SRM
8 oz Caramunich Malt 56 SRM
10 lbs DME Golden Light 4 SRM
2 lbs 8 oz LME Golden Light 4 SRM
8 oz Corn Sugar (Dextrose)

1 oz Magnuim [15.5%] 60 min
1 oz Apollo [17%] 45 min
2 oz Sovereign [5.5%] 5 min

OG 1.124
SG when transferred off of trub: 1.062 (after three weeks)

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Stuck Fermentation
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2014, 02:56:55 pm »
what do you expect that to accomplish? the potential harm is having a quart of nasty boiled beer in your batch for no reason.

Are you using a hydrometer or a refractometer to measure your gravity?

next time don't transfer until the beer is done. big beers in particular can take a while to reach FG and if you remove a big chunk of the yeast it's going to take even longer. You could try pitching a very large very active batch of yeast. Do you have a local brewery that is friendly to homebrewers? if so try to find out if they will give you a pint of fresh slurry and pitch that in. might not work but it might.

"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"