Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Newbie here - bottle storage?  (Read 2717 times)

Offline tnrambler

• 1st Kit
  • Chattanooga, TN
Newbie here - bottle storage?
« on: August 05, 2014, 04:05:36 pm »
Hi,
After several years of watching and waiting, I jumped into brewing 1 gal batches right before Easter.  So far, I have 5 batches under my belt and I'm hooked and looking forward to ramping up to 5 gal batches soon.  Right now, I have about 70 bottles that I am storing in boxes from Sam Adams and Highland brewing (12 pack retail).  These are sturdy 12 pack boxes that I use not only for storage, but for holding my beer as it is bottle conditioning.  As I look move toward ramping up to 5 gal batches, are there any suggestions on the best way to store and/or bottle condition the 50+ bottles that I will need for a 5 gal batch?  Are there any Rubbermaid containers or anything else that you might recommend?  Thanks.

Offline Slowbrew

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
Re: Newbie here - bottle storage?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 04:16:17 pm »
I have always just used the boxes the bottles came in until they wear out.

I started a project to make my own wooden boxes but haven't had the time to actually get very far. 

I have seen ads for plastic/waterproof boxes like these http://www.homebrewing.org/CW-Crate--12-Oz-Beer-Case-_p_2143.html  over the years but never bought those either. 

I never worried too much about the box, as long as I had something I could move them in.

Paul
Where the heck are we going?  And what's with this hand basket?

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2014, 04:22:01 pm »