Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Upgrade decision. Advice needed  (Read 2670 times)

Offline cmooreseymour

• 1st Kit
Upgrade decision. Advice needed
« on: August 14, 2014, 07:19:39 am »
I've been brewing for 5 years.  Every summer, I upgrade a portion of my equipment and need some advice before I make my decision this year.

Current setup: glass carboys, corny keg, small chest freezer, extract brewing. I currently ferment for 3 weeks at a controlled temp in the freezer, carb/keg and low temps and serve. I'm able to brew once a month with this system.

I would like to upgrade to a second keg, so I can brew more often and have two beers always on tap.  This would result in either having to ferment at room temperatures or buying an additional fridge/freezer and external thermometer ($250+, not really an option with my first kid on the way in October).

Should I buy the second keg and CO2 splitter, brew every other weekend and ferment at room temps or upgrade to all-grain equipment and keep brewing once/month?

Palmer and Zainasheff constantly PREACH controlled fermentation temperatures, which leads to my dilemma. THANK YOU in advance for any and all advice and opinions.

Cheers,
Cliff

Offline Jimmy K

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Delaware
Re: Upgrade decision. Advice needed
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2014, 07:52:15 am »
I would also preach controlled fermentation temps, but can you achieve good temperatures outside the freezer? If it's cool in your house or basement you could ferment there - at least for part of the year. This depends on where you live, but parts of my house are a steady 65 in the winter.

Another question - do you want to brew more kinds of beer or just more beer? If you just want more beer you could do 10 gallon batches and keep the current monthly brew/ferment/serve schedule going.