Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Differing AAU ratings for same hops  (Read 2205 times)

Offline Bill Wallace

• 1st Kit
Differing AAU ratings for same hops
« on: August 19, 2014, 01:29:46 pm »
Newbie here so be gentle.  I have a whole grain recipe to replicate Sierra Pale Ale that calls for Bittering Hops of 1 oz of Cascade at 5.7 AAU and Flavoring Hops of 3oz Cascade at 4.9 AAU. 

Here's the dumb question: wouldn't Cascade Hops all have roughly the same AAU or is there some way I adjust this?  Or is this the wrong question altogether?  What do I need to know here? 

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Differing AAU ratings for same hops
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2014, 01:40:30 pm »
Newbie here so be gentle.  I have a whole grain recipe to replicate Sierra Pale Ale that calls for Bittering Hops of 1 oz of Cascade at 5.7 AAU and Flavoring Hops of 3oz Cascade at 4.9 AAU. 

Here's the dumb question: wouldn't Cascade Hops all have roughly the same AAU or is there some way I adjust this?  Or is this the wrong question altogether?  What do I need to know here?

Different crops from different locations can have different characteristics.  Terroir plays into it, just like with wine.  To make subs, multiply the AA by the weight to get HBU (homebrew bittering units).  For instance, one oz. of 5% AA hops is equivalent in bittering to 2 oz. of 2.5% AA hops.  You can ust that for any hops added before about 20 min, to end of boil.  From that point on to the end of boil, you get mainly flavor and aroma and very little to no bittering.  For addition 20 min. or under, go by weight.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe