Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: At a crossroads for adjusting my brewing water....  (Read 2603 times)

Offline Steve L

• Brewmaster
  • Rocky Mount, VA
At a crossroads for adjusting my brewing water....
« on: August 07, 2014, 12:07:16 pm »
I've been using Walmart spring water for a couple of years to brew with. It was fairly modest in its cations and anions and had an alkalinity of 170. It was pretty easy to dilute to get the alkalinity I was looking for. Now my local walmart has switched vendors. This is the new water report:

Alkalinity: 22
Bicarbonate: 27
Calcium: 16
Chloride: 1
Sulfate: 2.8
Magnesium 1.8
Sodium: 2.3
PH 7.3

apart from a bit of hardness and a wee bit of Calcium, This stuff is darn near RO water. I think It's time for me to just start building from RO and not worry about it. With my previous water I never had to worry about adding Chalk, Pickling lime or baking soda. I was curious as to everyones opinions on their favorite. I feel the Chalk is out due to the trouble getting it to dissolve. Between Lime and Baking soda, Which is preferable?

Thanks!
Corripe Cervisiam

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: At a crossroads for adjusting my brewing water....
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2014, 12:17:44 pm »
Pickling lime is somewhat more dangerous in terms of safe handling, but Denny swears by it for his darker roastier beers.  Use them both (trying separate batches) and decide what works best for you!  I have only used the baking soda, but that is because it was what I had on hand when I made my last batch of heavy roast...I will have to follow my own advice here and brew an oatmeal stout soon!
Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2014, 12:37:19 pm »