Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Tutorials on making beer WITHOUT any annoying starter kits  (Read 16000 times)

Offline JoshAraujo

• 1st Kit
Tutorials on making beer WITHOUT any annoying starter kits
« on: September 10, 2014, 09:34:13 am »
Im new to brewing, Im done some wine making in the past though
Whenever I search for tutorials or info on brewing home-beer all I find are annoying starter kit videos and pages

Does anyone know any tutorials on making beer on your own with just plain ordinary ingredients, and no extracts or special grains or Camden tablets, etc etc

Silly question I reckon, but I really want to get into brewing, and the old fashioned way

-Josh

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
Re: Tutorials on making beer WITHOUT any annoying starter kits
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2014, 09:42:30 am »
These are on the AHA page. Just go the advanced section.
http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/how-to-brew/advanced/videos/
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline duncan

• AHA / BA
  • Administrator
  • Brewer
    • HomebrewersAssociation.org
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2014, 10:01:52 am »
I'd recommend checking out our brew in a bag tutorial. It's a technique to all-grain brew without having to buy an overt amount of equipment: http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/how-to-brew/advanced/how-to-brew-beer/ . Jeff's link is a good'n, too.
American Homebrewers Association / Brewers Association

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2014, 10:12:26 am »
at a minimum you are going to need special grains.

if you are referring to full on old school brewing with out chemicals, instruments, or other modern conveniences I'm not sure what you'll find out there.