Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: maple priming?  (Read 4337 times)

Offline boburtz

• 1st Kit
maple priming?
« on: September 10, 2014, 10:22:42 am »
Hey All,
I'm trying to get some maple flavor into a brew that I currently have in primary. Everything I've read states that maple sugar(syrup) is completely fermentable, so will impart very little maple flavor to the beer.
My idea is this: I'm thinking about priming with maple syrup, using a bit more than necessary to get the desired carbonation, then refrigerating after two or three weeks to stall the yeast and stop bottle bombs from happening. The hypothesis is that if I stall the yeast before it has time to eat all of the maple sugar, some will be left in the bottle for flavor. Is this possible? I'm new at this and I don't want to make a huge mess, more importantly, I don't want to waste a bunch of perfectly good beer.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: maple priming?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2014, 10:49:39 am »
I've tried it twice without very good results.  First, you use so little that you get no flavor.  Second, it's hard to figure out how much carbonation you'll get.  I've also found that if you use enough to tatse, it can impart a woody flavor.  IMO, the best way to get maple flavor os with a good maple extract.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2014, 10:57:34 am »