Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bottles infected?  (Read 1163 times)

Offline CABUTLER

• 1st Kit
Bottles infected?
« on: September 17, 2014, 09:10:31 am »
Howdy,
I recently bottled a porter and I am concerned it may be contaminated. The bottles in question have a white haze from the top of the beer (in neck of bottle) down about 1 inch. When I swirl the beer around a bit, it slightly dissipates, but I can see small chunks of light colored sediment. The sediment is miniscule and very thin and flaky. I have been brewing for over 15 years and this is a first. Maybe this is normal, I don't usually check up on my beers that shortly after bottling, but I bottled an Octoberfest and noticed the haze in a clear bomber when I set the Ofest next to it. I was so concerned about this, I cracked a bottle open and tried it before it was carbed. It has only been 5 days since I bottled it. It tasted fine. Actually, it tasted great.  I have had one batch in my brewing career that was definitely contaminated and I knew why (bung blew off and have used blow-off tubes ever since). It was sour enough to make my eyes water. I still drank it. Here is another reason why I am concerned:

I brewed the Porter, then racked to a secondary. I then brewed an American Stout and pitched that onto the Porter's cake. The Porter was perfectly flawless in appearance in the secondary. It tasted great going into the bottles, as did the stout. Here's the confusing part. I didn't rack the stout to a secondary. Instead, I bottled both the Porter and Stout at the same time, one after another. The Porter first, then the stout. I sanitized my equipment and the bottles the same way, just like always. Every bottle of Porter has this 1 inch haze with sediment at the neck of each bottle. None of bottles of Stout have this ring.