Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Pilsner Help  (Read 2790 times)

Offline 69franx

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Bloatarian Brewing League
Pilsner Help
« on: September 29, 2014, 02:22:32 pm »
Thinking about trying out a Pilsner recipe from NHC Gold Medal Recipes. It was the Barky Pilsner. I have a couple questions about the recipe and making it.
Firstly, has anyone made this recipe, it sounds great?
Second: what should I target for water profile, as I am new to Bru'nWater: Pilsen, Yellow (bitter,malty, balanced) just going from Pilsen to any of the others, makes a huge change in additions to my RO water. As an example, pilsen calls for 7ppm Ca while Yellow balanced calls for 50ppm. Just really dont know what to target.
BJCP guidelines call for " Moderate to moderately-low yet well attenuated maltiness, although some grainy flavors and slight Pils malt sweetness are acceptable. Hop bitterness dominates taste and continues through the finish and lingers into the aftertaste. Hop flavor can range from low to high but should only be derived from German noble hops." So it seems like I could target balanced, bitter, or even malty through different arts of that quoted description. I guess bitter comes through it the most, but...
Any info anyone can offer will be a big help
Frank L.
Fermenting: Nothing (ugh!)
Conditioning: Nothing (UGH!)
In keg: Nothing (Double UGH!)
In the works:  House IPA, Dark Mild, Ballantine Ale clone(still trying to work this one into the schedule)

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Pilsner Help
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2014, 02:30:27 pm »