Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Really Basic Kettle ? from a newbie  (Read 2484 times)

Offline brew-witch

• Cellarman
Really Basic Kettle ? from a newbie
« on: May 04, 2010, 08:47:25 am »
OK, a little background... I'm just getting started brewing (like haven't even brewed my first batch yet!) but I am not new to the craft of fine beer tasting  ;)  My joy in drinking beer is variety, not necessarily quantity for less $.  And I am an herbalist so I already enjoy the art of brewing, blending, trying new recipes.  That said, I will probably stay with partial mash rather than all grain brewing (I have an extract kit here but that will probably be my first and maybe last).  And I would like to do more smaller (1-3 gal) batches for variety rather than larger 5+ gal batches for quantity.

So my first question from you more experienced than I... does this sound reasonable so far?

And my second question, assuming smaller batches with more variety is reasonable, I'm on a budget, so does it make more sense to invest in a better quality 12 - 16qt pot or go with a lesser quality, more standard 20qt pot?  (and any recommendations regarding which pots are better are all welcome too!)

l've done a lot of reading so far and a little knowledge can become very confusing, so now it's time for me to ask the professionals  ;D
If you can't handle an hour of leisure time, then eternity is going to be a problem.

Offline glitterbug

• Assistant Brewer
  • dallas, tx
Re: Really Basic Kettle ? from a newbie
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2010, 09:08:13 am »
Go for the 20qt, it will give you more flexibility than a smaller pot.
A witty saying proves nothing - Voltaire

Offline tygo

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Sterling, VA
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2010, 09:13:36 am »
Go for the 20qt, it will give you more flexibility than a smaller pot.