Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How Do Fermentables Affect Flavor?  (Read 2779 times)

Offline depthcharge623

• 1st Kit
How Do Fermentables Affect Flavor?
« on: October 15, 2014, 01:22:30 pm »
I am brand new to brewing... just bottled my first beer-- an Oktoberfest from an extract kit.

I have been doing research to wrap my mind around the concepts of brewing, and do not entirely understand how fermentable sugars affect the beer besides ABV.  I know that a non-fermentable sugar, like maltodextrin, will not affect ABV, but only affect the density of the beer.  Other non-fermentables would affect either the density/mouthfeel or flavor.

But I'm wondering how much effect a fermentable has on the flavor or mouthfeel?  Like will some product that is supposed to be 100% fermentable have an influence over the flavor or mouthfeel?

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: How Do Fermentables Affect Flavor?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2014, 01:38:02 pm »
flavor compounds are not particularly related to sugars perse.

However most sugar sources have some flavor compounds as well. if those compounds are plentiful enough, and not so volatile as to be completely blown off by an active fermentation then they will affect the flavor of th finished beer.

additionally, alcohol both has a flavor of it's own, and will enhance and transport flavor molecules from other sources. In this way the amount of fermentables will affect the character of the finished beverage.