Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Wort Chillers - Copper vs. Stainless Steel  (Read 10909 times)

Offline peteck36

• 1st Kit
Wort Chillers - Copper vs. Stainless Steel
« on: October 19, 2014, 08:45:42 pm »
Hi all.

I'm a newbie (4 brews) and am thinking about getting an immersion wort chiller. I've seen both copper and stainless steel for sale.  Which do you think is better?

Thanks for your help.

Peter

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Wort Chillers - Copper vs. Stainless Steel
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2014, 08:47:19 pm »
Copper is more efficient, stainless is cheaper. Both will work fine. I have multiple copper chillers.

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2014, 09:34:24 pm »
Copper costs more today, which was a surprise. SS is more durable.

If one looks at the effectiveness, it only goes a little in favor of copper.

Buy the biggest you can afford. You can make a copper chiller easier. I have a 50ft 1/2 inch copper chiller.
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

S. cerevisiae

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2014, 07:38:17 pm »
If you talking about immersion chillers, I have chillers made from both materials.  Stainless steel is definitely durable and pretty, but copper wins hands down when it comes to chilling.

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2014, 08:52:41 pm »
How much is hands down?

Running the numbers, one gets that the SS is about 88% of the copper. What are your numbers?
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild

S. cerevisiae

« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2014, 07:47:56 am »