Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bugging me  (Read 1617 times)

Offline bassetman

• Cellarman
  • B is for beer and Basset
Bugging me
« on: March 28, 2015, 05:51:39 am »
i started brewing this last winter in the depths of December. I am accustomed to cracking ice off my hands and sheltering the burner from the wind. Now, in warmer times as spring unfolds....how do you keep all the flying things out of the wort pot? Would a steel screen be OK? I know you do not want to cover the pot but the screen. Would let the boil off dissipate . Clouds of small moths seem to be set on suicidal swimming expeditions during the course of the boil. Or do you just strain them out at the end and claim a "secret" flavor enhancement ingredient. ;)
If it ain't broke let me have a go at it.

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
Re: Bugging me
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2015, 06:01:09 am »
Not many bugs make it into my boil. Sometimes wasps or yellow jackets are attracted to the sweet wort smell, but don't go in. It will be nice when I can brew in warmer weather, even though I brew in the garage, 15F right now.
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline bassetman

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2015, 06:03:40 am »
These moths seem to form a traffic pattern so they can line up for their final dive to oblivion.

Offline 4swan

• Cellarman
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2015, 06:09:05 am »
I know I'm a heretic, but I mostly cover my brew pot with the lid.  I've never had a problem in over ten years with DMS. Even with only a 60 minute boil and a Pilsner malt base.  You could try partially covering your pot with the lid and see what you think. Don't put the lid 100% on as that will just cause boil overs.

Offline Wort-H.O.G.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Play Nice