Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: HELP: WLP540 Abbey IV Attenuation  (Read 10860 times)

S. cerevisiae

Re: HELP: WLP540 Abbey IV Attenuation
« Reply #45 on: October 19, 2014, 06:26:45 pm »
Good thing I'm a homebrewer not an amateur brewer.

Homebrewers are amateur brewers.  An amateur brewer is a brewer who brews sans compensation.

I personally do care for the terms "home brewing" and "home brewer."  Both terms carry negative connotations that date back to the days of Prohibition.  The hobby has grown well beyond the days of PBR malt extract, white sugar, and Red Star yeast.  However, that's the image that comes to mind when people my age and older who do not brew think of home brew.   

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #46 on: October 19, 2014, 06:40:11 pm »
Well I prefer homebrewer over amateur. To me amateur carries a negative connotation of inexperience and lack of skill. Tomato potato.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #47 on: October 19, 2014, 08:26:24 pm »
Well I prefer homebrewer over amateur. To me amateur carries a negative connotation of inexperience and lack of skill. Tomato potato.

remember, until they started letting pro basketball players compete, the olympics were an all amateur competition. The concept of amateur can actually encompass the very best of the best because there is no need to pander for pay. it essentially means one do does it for the love
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

S. cerevisiae

« Reply #48 on: October 19, 2014, 08:51:15 pm »

Well, that's one definition of amateur.   However, most professions recognize the following definition:

am·a·teur

noun \ˈa-mə-(ˌ)tər, -ˌtu̇r, -ˌtyu̇r, -ˌchu̇r, -chər\