Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brew target OG way off  (Read 2910 times)

Offline Werks21

• Assistant Brewer
  • Enterprising brewer and aspiring beer judge
Brew target OG way off
« on: October 18, 2014, 08:58:52 pm »
Brew target OG way off.

I just brewed a 5 gal recipe that brew target said would yield about 1.063 OG but ended up with 1.072 OG. that seems a bit off considering that my final Kettle volume matched exactly my batch size plus my stated kettle loss. Anyone else had the same problem? The extract and other fermentables I added to the batch were pretty much spot on so I am wondering if there is something Im missing with the program since im new to it. Any help would be appreciated.
Jonathan W.
Snohomish WA

Offline jmsetzler

• Cellarman
    • Beer Before Noon
Re: Brew target OG way off
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2014, 09:41:07 pm »
Can you share your ingredients list and water volumes?  It shoudln't take much to calculate the expected gravities...

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2014, 07:00:40 am »
I bet they assumed your brewhouse efficiency was 75%, which is kind of an all-around average for different brewers.  The "problem" might be that your efficiency is higher at around 72 * 75 / 63 = 86%.  If so, that's pretty cool, you are crushing and sparging well.

It could also be that your software assumes too little extract out of each specific grain, i.e., there might be a discrepancy between the points per pound per gallon assumed by your software compared to the actual maximum based on malt brand, the season, the weather, the phase of the moon (exaggerating a little), etc.  It happens.
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline denny

• Administrator