Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How Yeast Affects Beer  (Read 4301 times)

Offline depthcharge623

• 1st Kit
How Yeast Affects Beer
« on: October 28, 2014, 12:47:03 pm »
I started a thread a while back on how different fermentables affect beer.  I was surprised to see from the responses how much yeast affects the taste of beer (yes, I'm a noob).  So I was wondering if anyone had resources (or want to explain to me) explaining some common yeasts that are used, and how they affect the beer.  I already know a little about the general difference between top and bottom yeasts, but beyond that am clueless.

I was also wondering how much the combination of yeast/grain affects flavor.  Meaning, will a certain yeast always add certain flavors, regardless of what grain is used?  Or is it more complicated than that?

Offline 69franx

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Bloatarian Brewing League
Re: How Yeast Affects Beer
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2014, 12:50:19 pm »
In my experience and from what I have read here, "Chico" or WY1056, WLP001, So5 are all very clean fermenters, in that they add little flavor of their own, allowing the hops and malt to shine through. Belgian yeast styles throw a lot of specific flavors you can really only get from Belgian yeast strains. Hefeweizen yeasts perform differently and produce a different set of flavors unique to that type of strain. Everyone else will likely be more specific, but this is a start for you. Hope it helps
Frank L.
Fermenting: Nothing (ugh!)
Conditioning: Nothing (UGH!)
In keg: Nothing (Double UGH!)
In the works:  House IPA, Dark Mild, Ballantine Ale clone(still trying to work this one into the schedule)

Offline riceral

• Brewer
Ralph R.

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2014, 01:18:57 pm »