Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First American Amber Ale help  (Read 2104 times)

Offline RhavenPhil

• 1st Kit
First American Amber Ale help
« on: November 12, 2014, 12:38:29 pm »
I'm basing this recipe on one that I got from the BYO web site - https://byo.com/stories/item/124-amber-ale-and-american-pale-ale-style-of-the-month - the American Amber II recipe.

I've modified the recipe somewhat based on what I have on hand:
  • 8lb (3.67kg) Palt Malt
  • 1lb (0.45kg) Cara-Pils
  • 0.5lb (0.23kg) Crystal 40L
  • 3.5oz (0.1kg) Caraaroma
  • 3.5oz (0.1kg) Chocolate Malt
  • 0.5oz (14g) Centennial (10.9%) - 90 min
  • 1oz (28g) Willamette (4.2%) - 15min
  • 1oz (28g) Willamette (4.2%) - 0min
  • Safale US-05 yeast

5gallon batch; Est OG = 1.052; IBU = 31.4; Color=16.5SRM; ABV = 5.1%

This is my first time brewing an amber and would appreciate any advice on the proposed recipe above. I intend on brewing it this weekend.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: First American Amber Ale help
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2014, 12:49:52 pm »
What do you think you will get from each ingredient?

The first thing that jumps out at me is the carapils. I'm not sure that I would want that in my beer when I could use a more flavorful crystal malt to add the color I want and a bit more flavor impact.

I'm not saying you should change anything I would just think about it. If an ingredient doesn't accomplish a clear goal than it doesn't belong in the recipe.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline RhavenPhil

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2014, 10:00:21 pm »
Would you recommend taking the carapils out and rather increasing the crystal 40 to 1 lb?

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2014, 10:55:33 pm »