Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Warm weather brewing  (Read 2462 times)

Offline leowaiau

• 1st Kit
Warm weather brewing
« on: November 17, 2014, 06:01:51 pm »
I live in Maui Hawaii and I am new to home brewing, I have done 4 batches of home brew. My question is this: it's hot here all year round, a steady 75-85 degrees, and I have no access to a fridge or any kind of steady temperature control. What are my options? I really want to eventual brew some stouts because they are my favorite, or really any style. What is your advice or tips for brewing in warm weather? 

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Warm weather brewing
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2014, 06:05:02 pm »
Tub of water with frozen water/soda bottles works well for many brewers. Takes extra effort, but you do what you can.

Offline brushvalleybrewer

• Assistant Brewer
  • Centre Hall, PA
    • Brush Valley Brewer
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2014, 06:51:39 pm »
Swamp cooler. Carboy in a big bucket of water.,A t-shirt over the carboy to act as a wick, and a fan to blow on the t-shirt. Makes the water evaporate and can reduce the temperature by several degrees.
In a humble log cabin off an unregarded back road, somewhere, deep in the heart of Pennsylvania’s hill country, we find our intrepid hero — the Brush Valley Brewer.

Offline troybinso

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2014, 07:25:28 pm »
I live in Maui Hawaii and I am new to home brewing, I have done 4 batches of home brew. My question is this: it's hot here all year round, a steady 75-85 degrees, and I have no access to a fridge or any kind of steady temperature control. What are my options? I really want to eventual brew some stouts because they are my favorite, or really any style. What is your advice or tips for brewing in warm weather?