Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Reminiscing  (Read 2972 times)

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Reminiscing
« on: November 18, 2014, 11:34:29 am »
Near the end of the year I start thinking about things that happened over the past year. I've had a lot of growth in my brew knowledge which I owe to many of you.

This year I have brewed 110 gal (so far) and many were firsts for me. For instance my first all grain was an Alt Bier back in Apr. My first AHA Big Brew was the Regal Pale Ale which I will brew again this weekend I liked it so much. My first keg beer was an Aletoberfest in Aug and my first lager, a California Common, is still in the secondary.

How about you? Any reminiscing memories?

Offline pete b

• Barre, Ma
Re: Reminiscing
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2014, 12:27:35 pm »
Near the end of the year I start thinking about things that happened over the past year. I've had a lot of growth in my brew knowledge which I owe to many of you.

This year I have brewed 110 gal (so far) and many were firsts for me. For instance my first all grain was an Alt Bier back in Apr. My first AHA Big Brew was the Regal Pale Ale which I will brew again this weekend I liked it so much. My first keg beer was an Aletoberfest in Aug and my first lager, a California Common, is still in the secondary.

How about you? Any reminiscing memories?
I joined the AHA and started reading this forum in February of this year. Here's what I'm doing differently or more of because of the advice or ideas from this forum. Most of it I've heard before but the repetition and reading about things in different contexts makes a difference:
1. generally fermenting at lower temperatures and raising temperature some when primary is almost finished. I think fermenting at lower temps was mentioned once before on this forum  8)
2. Not putting any ingredient in my beer without a reason.