Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Question regarding water  (Read 4232 times)

Offline AnimALE

• Cellarman
  • Beer i go again on my own
Question regarding water
« on: November 18, 2014, 11:36:33 am »
Hello everyone..I am just starting to get into water chemistry..I am using bru'n water spreadsheet....I am brewing a amber lager style beer this sunday..I am gonna use distilled water and treat with calcium chloride..according to bru'n water 2.3 grams of calcium chloride in the mash and 3.1 grams in the sparge water   will give me  54ppm of calcium and my chloride to 95.6 ppm the rest of the ions are zero..My cations to anions is 2.7 to 2.7..I am looking to have a balanced profile in the beer..I am a noob when it comes to water chemistry so if someone can tell me if this makes sense or if something is off..There is a bit of learning with this bru'n water

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Question regarding water
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2014, 11:38:31 am »
assuming that get's your pH where you need it it sound fine.

When I do a marzen I add some gypsum (Can't remember the actual amounts) becuase I think that a dry, crisp finish is ideal for those styles. Plenty of munich malt will get you the malty character you want but the sulfate will help with the crisp finish. FWIW
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline Wort-H.O.G.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Play Nice
    • Harvey's Brewhaus
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2014, 11:39:36 am »