Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Best hop for dry hopping?  (Read 6678 times)

Offline Iloveipa

• 1st Kit
Best hop for dry hopping?
« on: November 21, 2014, 08:11:23 am »
I made a 10 gallon ipa last weekend using:

1oz willamette - steeped with grains
1oz magnum -60 min
1oz magnum-45 min
2oz chinook - 30 min
2oz cascade - 15 min
2oz cascade - flame out

I'm ready to dry hop, and would like to experiment with different hop varieties to dry hop and am looking for suggestions.  I'm fairly new to brewing and am not sure what goes together.   I was thinking about using 1oz willamette in one and tetnang in the other.  Or should I stick with chinook or cascade?    Are there any hop combinations that just don't go well together?   
« Last Edit: November 21, 2014, 08:24:30 am by Iloveipa »

Offline AnimALE

• Cellarman
  • Beer i go again on my own
Re: Best hop for dry hopping?
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2014, 08:18:30 am »

1oz magnum -60 min
1oz magnum-45 min
2oz chinook - 30 min
2oz cascade - 15 min
2oz cascade - flame out

I'm ready to dry hop, and would like to experiment with different hop varieties to dry hop and am looking for suggestions.  I'm fairly new to brewing and am not sure what goes together.   I was thinking about using 1oz willamette in one and tetnang in the other.  Or should I stick with chinook or cascade?

Is subjective..but i like simcoe,centennial,columbus combo or any of these solo

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2014, 08:27:42 am »
If this is your first time out I would go with the cascade since those are used for all of your late additions. You will get a good feel for the flavor and aroma of cascade on its own without too many varieties competing.
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline AnimALE

• Cellarman