Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: oxidation  (Read 2004 times)

Offline homoeccentricus

• Brewmaster General
  • A twerp from Antwerp
oxidation
« on: December 02, 2014, 09:33:02 am »
Is there any reliable information of what the real impact is of contact between air and beer after primary fermentation is over? Say, I brew a simple IPA. After primary fermentation I put half of the beer in a fermentation bottle that becomes half full, and the other half in a fermentation bottle that becomes completely full. So in the first bottle  the contact surface between air and beer would be much greater than in the second. Suppose I don't stir or do anything else really stupid, would there be a big difference in taste between the first beer and the second, i.e. would the second beer have a more pronounced oxidized taste?

Asking this because I'm still a novice, and up to now I haven't paid much attention to this issue.

BTW, what a lot of people in Belgium seem to do when they are lagering their beer is  to add a lump of sugar. This would then ferment and create a "CO2 blanket" to protect the beer against oxidation. Does this work or is it a myth?
Frank P.

Staggering on the shoulders of giant dwarfs.

Offline Wort-H.O.G.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Play Nice
    • Harvey's Brewhaus
Re: oxidation
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2014, 10:19:03 am »
is this something you are having issue with? if not wouldn't be too concerned. first-fill your bottles up to top and cap with o2 absorbing caps. as far as lagers, never once have i had any issues with o2 in head space. i warm them up before lagering and that releases enough c02 to do the trick for the cold crash to precipitate yeast out. then i purge a keg with c02 and fill-purging again after sealing.
Ken- Chagrin Falls, OH
CPT, U.S.Army
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Harveys-Brewhaus/405092862905115