Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Allergic to Judy's Brown Ale?  (Read 3800 times)

Offline Dave King

• Cellarman
    • BIER Website
Allergic to Judy's Brown Ale?
« on: November 25, 2014, 01:21:42 pm »
I've been making my Daughter a special Brown Ale, for about 15 years.  She and I adjusted the recipe to just what she wants.  She is allergic to the last batch!  I had some of the previous batch for comparison, and they're just fine, we repeated the comparison, and it's consistent.  Most of the ingredients were identical.  The only thing that appears to be different is the yeast.  I always used Chico yeast, either 1056 or US-05, but on this last batch, I used a repitch of WLP007 English Ale Yeast, from a local BrewPub.  Is it reasonable that this yeast could cause an allergenic reaction?   Anyone have a similar experience?  Thanks!
« Last Edit: November 25, 2014, 01:23:17 pm by dking3 »
Dave King, President of BIER

Offline blatz

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Paul Blatz - Jupiter, FL
Re: Allergic to Judy's Brown Ale?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2014, 01:27:59 pm »
I think it is possible that there is some ester/compound that 007 produces more of than 001/1056 to a level that it causes an adverse reaction to her, sure.

not sure what the reaction was, but if its not dangerous, i would see if some other beers cause the same reaction - perhaps a growler from the brewery you got it from. 
The happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the best of everything they have.

BJCP National: F0281

Online denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2014, 01:38:32 pm »
First the disclaimer...I am not a doctor.  That said, I have to admit it seems kinda far fetched.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com