Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Beer is Flat  (Read 1686 times)

Offline SeanFawcett

• 1st Kit
Beer is Flat
« on: March 21, 2015, 03:31:20 pm »
Hi:

I've been brewing for a couple years now and, generally have had pretty good success.  Recently, I tried a brew which I was hoping would be a good summer beer.

I started with Brooklin Brew Shop's Honey-Grapefruit Ale (http://brooklynbrewshop.com/directions/Brooklyn%20Brew%20Shop%20-%20Grapefruit%20Honey%20Ale%20Instructions.pdf)but I substituted a mix of Orange and Lemon for the Grapefruit.  The fermentation was very active for a number of days so I have not doubt fermentation was fine.

OG was 1.054, FG was 1.014 at the time of bottling.

Usually, I put a teaspoon of conditioning sugar in each 12 oz bottle and siphon from the fermenter directly to the bottles and and carbonation is fine.  This time, I dissolved five ounces of conditioning sugar in about a half cup of water, added that to a carboy, siphoned the beer from the fermenter into the carboy, mixed it and then siphoned from that to the bottles.

After two weeks, I refrigerated a couple of bottles to test it and, sadly, the beer is totally flat.  The flavor is good but no fizz at all.

I've read that "lack of suspended yeast" can cause flat beer.  Other things I did differently:  Usiually, I just do a single fermentation for two or three weeks.  This time, after two weeks, I siphoned into a secondary fermenter and then fermented for another eight days.  Could I have exhausted the yeast?  I don't usually do a secondary; I sanitized the carboy but perhaps it wasn't clean enough.  Could remaining bubbled from the no-rinse sanitizer have caused a problem?

What could have gone wrong?  Is there anything I can do?  Or just suck it up and drink 50 bottles of flat beer?

Thanks

« Last Edit: March 21, 2015, 03:55:30 pm by SeanFawcett »

Offline JT

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Bloatarian Brewing League - Cincinnati, OH